Flood Mitigation Assistance Program

What is the Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) Program?

FEMA's Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) grant program is a resource provided to the city meant to reduce or eliminate the risk of repetitive flood damage to buildings and structures insured under the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). 

The FMA is a nationally competitive annual FEMA grant program. Prioritization is given to those structures listed as Severe Repetitive Loss and Repetitive Loss. 

Cost shares for the homeowner will vary depending on the validation of the structure and are pre-determined by FEMA in most cases.

The City of St. Augustine will prioritize properties based on the structure indicator: 

  • Insured Severe Repetitive Loss primary residences 
  • Insured Repetitive Loss  primary residences 
  • Insured Severe Repetitive Loss secondary residences 
  • Insured Repetitive Loss  secondary residences 

 Project activity types will include:

  •  Elevations
  •  Reconstructions (if applicable) 

Who can apply for the FMA Program?

Those who currently participate in the National Flood Insurance Program:

  • Must be insured with the NFIP at the time of the application opening period (09/30/22) 
  • Policy must be effective as of 9/30/22
  • Must maintain flood insurance to the structure in perpetuity 


To view the FMA workshop presentation, click here.

To watch the FMA workshop presentation, click here.

Resilent St Aug Logo
  1. Jessica Beach, P.E.

    Chief Resilience Officer

  2. Richard "Buddy" Schauland

    Building Official and Code Enforcement Manager

Documents Needed for Participation Elevation and Reconstruction

  • Signed FMA Forms
  • NFIP Insurance Declaration Page
  • Current Elevation Certificate - contact Planning and Building at 904-825-1065 to request your Flood Elevation Certificate
  • 3 Elevation Quotes from qualified elevation firms (Quote should indicate who is performing the lift) 
    • A sketch of the structure submitted 
    • Copy of Contractor License 
  • Copy of Riggers Insurance (if lift contractor) 
  • Color photos of all 4 sides of structure