Historic Preservation Advisory Committee


  • 2nd Thursday of every other month (January, March, May, July, September, and November)
  • City Hall
    75 King Street
    Alcazar Conference Room
    St. Augustine, FL 32085


Qualifications: Not Applicable

The current members of the Historic Preservation Advisory Committee are:

  • Rosalie Russo, Chair
    348 Charlotte Street
    St. Augustine, FL 32084
  • Alice Long Owens, Vice Chair
    P.O. Box 2048
    St. Augustine, FL 32085
  • Maurine Marshall Boles
    35 Mulberry Street
    St. Augustine, FL 32084
  • Elizabeth Duncan
    55 Oneida Street
    St. Augustine, FL 32084
  • W. Michelle Reyna
    P. O. Box 1348
    St. Augustine, FL 32085-1348

Ex- Officio Representatives

  • Nick McAuliff
    St. Augustine Archaeological Society
    115 Ferdinand Avenue
    St. Augustine, FL 32080
  • Dr. Susan R. Parker
    St. Augustine Historical Society
    271 Charlotte Street
    St. Augustine, FL 32084
  • Gordon J. Wilson, Superintendent
    Castillo de San Marcos National Monument
    1 South Castillo Drive
    St. Augustine, FL 32084


The committee's seven members are appointed by the city commission, some for 3-year terms and some for 2-year terms. In addition, there are four ex-officio members representing the Castillo de San Marcos National Monument, the St. Augustine Historical Society, the St. Augustine Archaeological Society, and the Fort Mose Historical Society.

The committee provides guidance to the city commission in the use of the buildings and other historic properties as per the city's agreement with the Division of Historical Resources, Florida Department of State and advises the city on matters dealing with the management and use of the properties. In addition, the city submits any significant changes to the use, ownership, or physical characteristics of the properties to the committee for comment prior to submission to the Division of Historical Resources.