Listen to The Break Room

Whether working in an office cubicle, on a factory floor or along the aisles of a retail store, time spent in the break room is usually a quiet time, away from pressure, away from work routines and often a place where co-workers can converse in a relaxed environment. That’s the idea behind the WFCF/Flagler College Radio program, The Break Room (TBR).

Hosted by Communications Manager Melissa Wissel, the 15-minute weekly program offers a behind-the-scenes look at the day-to-day operations of city government through conversations with city employees who do the work every day. TBR airs every Wednesday at 5:00pm, Thursday at 12:00pm, and Saturday at 8:00am.

February 2020 
Wed. February 26
Thurs. February 27
Sat. February 29
Kim Mayo, Event and Venue Coordinator

Spring festivals and free shuttle: Coming soon!

Wed. February 19
Thurs. February 20
Sat. February 22
Sam Adukiewicz, Harbormaster

Full-service Marina and more: Transient boaters and community benefits from services offered at the city marina

Wed. February 12
Thurs. February 13
Sat. February 15
Vicky Oakes, Supervisor of Elections

Upcoming Special Election: Register to vote, know where to vote, and more.

Wed. February 5
Thurs. February 6
Sat. February 8
Isabelle Lopez, City Attorney

City Charter and upcoming City Special Election: Updates and what’s on the ballot that registered voters should know about.

January 2020 
Wed. January 29
Thurs. January 30
Sat. February 1
Darlene Galambos, City Clerk

The keeper of our past: Continuing the conversation about Sunshine Law, civic boards and the need for upcoming City Commission workshops.

Wed. January 22
Thurs. January 23
Sat. January 25
Mike Cullum, Chief Resilience Officer

Resiliency is a work in progress: An update on current projects, including Fish Island, Coquina Park, and Lake Maria Sanchez.

Wed. January 15
Thurs. January 16
Sat. January 18
John Cary, Assistant City Attorney

Who needs a lawyer?: What are the roles and responsibilities of the city attorney?  What is a Sunshine Law?

Wed. January 8
Thurs. January 9
Sat. January 11
Mark Hartley, Streets and Grounds Manager

Nights of Lights, Arbor Day, and Coquina Park: What it takes to keep our city green, clean and beautiful throughout the year.

Wed. January 1
Thurs. January 2
Sat. January 4
Todd Grant, Utility Director

Sustainable St. Augustine: What is "sustainability" and what does it mean for the City?

December 2019 
Wed. December 25
Thurs. December 26
Sat. December 28
Glabra Skipp, Environmental Program Coordinator

Go Green, St. Augustine: Environmental initiatives, including the upcoming used oil and electronics recycling event, keep us on the front lines of being environmentally aware.

Wed. December 18
Thurs. December 19
Sat. December 21
Abby Pedigo, Fire Safety Inspector

Put a Freeze on Winter Fires: Reminders for staying safe while you’re cooking, keeping warm, and celebrating the holidays.

Wed. December 11
Thurs. December 12
Sat. December 14
Jenny Wolfe, Historic Preservation Officer

Preservation Funding & Grants: Historic Preservation is more than fixing a roof or repairing a crack.

Wed. December 4
Thurs. December 5
Sat. December 7
Reuben Franklin, Public Works Director

Public Works and Mobility Update: With the recent re-organization, what does it mean for the Public Works Department and the future of Mobility?

November 2019 
Wed. November 27
Thurs. November 28
Sat. November 30
Steve Curmode, Wastewater Treatment Plant Supervisor

Fats, Oils, and Grease: What to do with all that leftover oil from holiday cooking.

Wed. November 20
Thurs. November 21
Sat. November 23
Xavier "X" Pellicer, Mobility Coordinator

Free Park & Ride Shuttle Returns: Ride the shuttle downtown and join us for the Light-Up! Night kick-off celebration for Nights of Lights.

Wed. November 13
Sat. November 16
Paul Williamson, Public Affairs Director

The changes in providing public information: After over ten years as host of The Break Room, Paul Williamson sits on the other side of the microphone and reflects on 19+ years of service to the Nation’s Oldest City.

Wed. November 6
Sat. November 9
Mike Cullum, Chief Resilience Officer

The changing roles in Public Works : A look at the importance of having a staff member dedicated to addressing the concerns of sea level rise for our city.

October 2019 
Wed. October 30
Sat. November 2
Sharon Langford, Visitor Services Manager
Jolinda LeVeck, Administrative Coordinator

A look back over the years: After 30 years of service each to the city, Sharon and Jolinda reflect on the changes as well as on the things that still remain the same in The Nation’s Oldest City.

Wed. October 23
Sat. October 26
Melissa Wissel, Public Information Coordinator

There’s a new website in town: The new website launched about one month ago - listen here to learn about some of the new features and what makes this site different from the previous.

Wed. October 16
Sat. October 19
Kim Mayo, Event and Venue CoordinatorNights of Lights: Light-Up! Night is November 23.  Listen for more information. 

Wed. October 9
Sat. October 12

Mike Cullum, Public Works Director

91 Coquina Park Update: Hear about progress of the project including the status of the permits, relocation efforts, removal of invasive vegetation and more.

Wed. October 2
Sat. September 28

Abby Pedigo, Fire Safety Inspector, Firefighter

Fire Prevention Month 2019 Theme: Not every hero wears a cape.  Plan and practice your escape!  

September 2019 

Wed. September 25
Sat. September 28

Jessica Beach, Stormwater Engineer

Stormwater and surge: Lessons learned from Dorian, the effectiveness of recent steps in improved stormwater management, and a sneak peek at the upcoming Lake Maria Sanchez project.

Wed. September 18
Sat. September 21

Kelli Mitchell,
Historic Preservation Planner

What does it mean? What is a historic preservation district? What is the meaning of "adaptive reuse?"  Answers to these questins and more.

Wed. September 11
Sat. September 14

Andrea White,
City Archaeologist

Uncovering St. Augustine: Details about the recent dig at 9 Aviles St. and more about the work of the Archeology Division.

Wed. September 4
Sat. September 7

NO PROGRAMMING

Due to Hurricane Dorian, we did not broadcast.