Archaeology Zones

A Map of Archaeological Zones within City LimitsArchaeology Zones

A total of 18 archaeological zones within the City limits encompass areas that are known or thought to contain buried archaeological resources dating back 4,000 years ago.

Each of the zones are categorized into three tiers: I, II, and III. These tiers correspond to the density of cultural deposits, the amount of time it takes to document resources, and the fee percentage associated with an A14 Archaeological Review Application

Archaeology Preservation Ordinance

The City's Archaeological Preservation Ordinance was one of the first in the United States and is unique because it evaluates and protects archaeological deposits on both public and private properties. Per the ordinance, archaeological review is part of the City’s permitting process. If a building, utility, or right-of-way project occurs within a defined Archaeological Zone, spans 100 square feet in width, and extends 3 inches deep, the work requires an archaeological review by the City Archaeologist.

For assistance with completing an A14 Archaeological Review Application, locating properties within an Archaeology Zone, or determining whether archaeology is required, please contact the Planning and Building Department at 904-825-1065.

Zone I

  1. Zone IA
  2. Zone IB
  3. Zone IC
  4. Zone ID
  5. Zone IE

Zone IA is in the colonial downtown district and contains archaeological deposits dating from the 1600s onward. Notable landmarks include the Castillo de San Marcos National Monument, the City Gate, and the Cubo Line. European settlement in this subzone initially occurred on an elevated dune ridge (along present-day St. George Street) and spread east and west during the late 1600s to early 1700s.

Zone II

  1. Zone IIA
  2. Zone IIB
  3. Zone IIC
  4. Zone IID
  5. Zone IIE
  6. Zone IIF
  7. Zone IIG
  8. Zone IIH

Zone IIA contains a wide variety of sites associated with prehistoric Native American and historic European settlements. Notable resources dating to the 1700s include portions of the Nombre De Dios mission, the Hornabeque defensive line, and a British farming enterprise. This subzone also includes the mid-1800s Abbott Tract, which was the first neighborhood in St. Augustine outside of the colonial downtown district.

Zone III

  1. Zone IIIA
  2. Zone IIIB
  3. Zone IIIC
  4. Zone IIID
  5. Zone IIIE

Zone IIIA includes areas of Lincolnville not incorporated into Zones IIB, IIC, and IID. Lincolnville was established by African-Americans after the Civil War and is a vibrant component of St. Augustine’s multicultural history. This subzone also includes 1700s British defensive fortifications and 1800s urban agricultural enterprises.

Google Map of Archaeological Zones

Please note that zone boundaries seen are not exact. These maps are intended to be a resource for general information and should not be used as the authority in determining whether or not a property is within a zone. If a property is in question, please call the City of St. Augustine Planning and Building Department at 904-825-1065.