More News

Congratulations, Class of 2017!

May 9, 2017 - For more than 20 years, the St. Augustine City Commission has recognized a graduating senior from St. Johns County High Schools with its annual Citizenship Award. The recipient is nominated by organizations from within the school with final selection being made by the schools administration.

The award is a way to recognize a student’s commitment to service to others, including fellow students and their community. Recipients receive a commemorative plaque, a lapel pin depicting the city’s coat of arms, and a $200 scholarship to assist in costs associated with further education.
Pictured above: Front row (L to R): Christine Maldonado (Florida School for the Deaf and the Blind - Deaf Dept.), Emily McKee (Bartram Trail HS), Sarah Lewis (Pedro Menendez HS), Natalie Costello (Ponte Vedra High School), Anna Crum (St. Augustine HS)

Back row (L to R):  Tyre Singleton (Florida School for the Deaf & Blind, Blind Dept.), Andrew Ryan (St. Joseph Academy), Justin Capili (Creekside HS), Chance Bryce Phillips (St. Johns Technical HS).